Norton VPN Review

Norton VPN

Compare with our top 7

Short answer: Norton VPN is not in our ranking of seven, and this page says why rather than pretending otherwise. What it has going for it: a 60-day money-back guarantee — the longest window of any provider covered on this site, by a month. Sixty days is genuinely exceptional. Most providers give you thirty, several give you fourteen, and one gives you seven; Norton gives you two months to find out whether it works. What keeps it out of our seven is what you are actually buying: the VPN is a component of a security suite rather than the product itself, so the price, the device count and the renewal are all decided by the bundle around it rather than by the VPN.

The facts, and where they come from

Everything below is what Norton VPN published on its own site on 6 September 2026, with the page we read it on. Where a detail was not stated there, the table says so rather than filling the gap from somewhere else. Prices were seen from Europe and differ by country.

Entry price

$39.99 for the first year on the five-device plan, renewing at $79.99

Money-back window

60 days

Simultaneous devices

Up to 5 on the entry plan, up to 10 on the higher tier

Free tier

A free trial is advertised

Governing law

Not stated on the pages we read

Our ranking

Not in our top seven — see below

Checked on

6 September 2026 — us.norton.com

A no-logs row is deliberately absent. Every provider states one, so the row would read "yes" every time and separate nobody; what separates them is an independent audit with a published scope and date, and that belongs in the text.

Why this one is not in our ranking

Sixty days is genuinely exceptional. Most providers give you thirty, several give you fourteen, and one gives you seven; Norton gives you two months to find out whether it works. What keeps it out of our seven is what you are actually buying: the VPN is a component of a security suite rather than the product itself, so the price, the device count and the renewal are all decided by the bundle around it rather than by the VPN.

That is not a warning. Our ranking is seven providers deep because seven is what we can keep current, and the order is decided by what we can verify on the provider’s own pages plus independent sources — the method is set out in our review methodology. A provider outside the seven is a provider we have less checkable evidence about, not one we are steering you away from.

Where our commercial agreements sit in that is in the affiliate disclosure: they influence placement, not stated facts.

What we could not verify

This section exists because most review pages leave it out, and leaving it out is how a gap in the evidence turns into a confident sentence. Everything here is a question we tried to answer from Norton VPN’s own pages on 6 September 2026 and could not.

  • The governing jurisdiction. Its legal pages did not state one in the sections we read.

  • Whether an independent audit of the logging policy exists, what it covered and when it was published.

  • Speed. We do not publish our own benchmarks, and no figure quoted anywhere is a measurement of your line.

None of that means the answers do not exist — only that we did not find them where a buyer would look. Support can usually give them to you in writing, and a provider that answers promptly on those questions has told you something useful in the process.

What we would compare it against

If Norton VPN is on your shortlist, these are the seven we rank and what each one is for. Comparing across the two lists is the point of this page:

  • NordVPN — the safe default and our number one.

  • Surfshark — the cheapest full-featured plan on our list.

  • IPVanish — the one for routers and manual configuration.

  • Proton VPN — the privacy-first choice, and the only real free tier.

  • ExpressVPN — the premium option, priced like one.

  • Private Internet Access — configurable and cheap, registered in the United States.

  • CyberGhost — the most forgiving for a first-time user.

The buying guide under the table on the ranking page sets out what to weigh: jurisdiction, whether anyone independent has examined the logging policy, what you pay in year two, and the refund window as the only trial that means anything.

Privacy and logging

Norton VPN’s own legal pages did not state a governing jurisdiction in the sections we read on 6 September 2026. That is a gap worth closing yourself before you rely on an answer either way — their support can give it to you in writing.

Norton VPN states that it does not log what you do online. So does every provider we cover, without exception, which is why that sentence tells you nothing on its own. What would lift it above marketing is an independent audit — and the scope matters as much as the existence, because "audited" covers everything from a full infrastructure review to a look at one desktop app.

Jurisdiction decides who can compel a provider and through what process. It does not tell you whether anything is kept. For most people the threat is an untrusted network and an internet provider that logs, not a state actor with a court order — and for that, this question is a tie-breaker rather than a decision.

Streaming and torrenting

We do not publish a table of ticks saying which platforms work, because that table is out of date by the time anyone reads it. Streaming services identify and block addresses they associate with VPNs; the provider rotates, the platform blocks again. A route that works this morning can fail this evening, on the same server, from the same house.

Norton VPN advertises that it works with particular services. That is the company’s claim about its own product and a reasonable one to make; it is not a guarantee, and no provider can honestly offer one.

Find out inside the refund window instead. Connect to the country whose catalogue you want, open the service on the device you will actually use, and play something for a few minutes — a page that loads is not a service that works. If it fails, try a second server in the same country before concluding anything.

Getting started, and what to check in the first week

The money-back window is a deadline, not a cushion.

Install Norton VPN on the device you were thinking of when you bought it, and turn on the kill switch before anything else — it cuts the connection when the tunnel drops instead of quietly letting traffic out over your ordinary line, and it is off by default more often than it should be.

Then test the thing you bought it for, not a speed test. And if you own a television, a console or anything else without an app, the answer is the router: install once there and every device on the network is covered as a single connection.

Decide before the window closes. How a refund request goes is the one interaction almost nobody tests before subscribing and almost everybody has eventually.

The verdict

Consider Norton VPN if you want the longest possible window to change your mind, and antivirus in the same subscription.

Look at our ranked seven instead if you want a VPN priced, sold and renewed as a VPN. The ranking page puts them in order with the reasoning.

Either way the decision is provisional until you have run it on your own connection. That is what the money-back window is for, and it is the only part of buying a VPN where you get an answer instead of a claim.

What it does well

  • A free tier: A free trial is advertised

  • Device limit stated on its own site: up to 5 on the entry plan, up to 10 on the higher tier

  • Money-back window of 60 days

  • Pricing published openly: $39.99 for the first year on the five-device plan, renewing at $79.99

What to weigh against it

  • No governing jurisdiction stated on its legal pages

  • Not in our ranked seven — see the section above for why

Frequently asked questions

Is Norton VPN worth it?

A 60-day money-back guarantee — the longest window of any provider covered on this site, by a month. Whether that is worth it depends on which of those things you were shopping for. Sixty days is genuinely exceptional. Most providers give you thirty, several give you fourteen, and one gives you seven; Norton gives you two months to find out whether it works. What keeps it out of our seven is what you are actually buying: the VPN is a component of a security suite rather than the product itself, so the price, the device count and the renewal are all decided by the bundle around it rather than by the VPN.

Why is Norton VPN not in your ranking?

Sixty days is genuinely exceptional. Most providers give you thirty, several give you fourteen, and one gives you seven; Norton gives you two months to find out whether it works. What keeps it out of our seven is what you are actually buying: the VPN is a component of a security suite rather than the product itself, so the price, the device count and the renewal are all decided by the bundle around it rather than by the VPN. Our ranking is seven deep because that is what we can keep current, and the order comes from what we can verify rather than from who pays us — the affiliate disclosure sets out exactly what commercial agreements can and cannot influence.

Does Norton VPN keep logs?

Norton VPN states that it does not. That is a claim by the company, not a finding by us. An independent audit with a stated scope and date is what would lift it above marketing.

How should I test Norton VPN before committing?

Inside the money-back window (60 days), on the connection you actually have, doing the things you bought it for. In the first week rather than on the last day, so there is still time to ask for the refund.

Further reading

  • Our VPN ranking — the seven we rank, in order, with the buying guide.

  • VPN glossary — the vocabulary, from kill switch to split tunnelling.

  • Free VPNs — what a free service gives up.

  • VPN vs proxy — why a browser extension is the second of those.

  • How we review — what evidence goes in, and what we refuse to measure.

  • Corrections — what we got wrong and when we fixed it.

Other providers we checked

Four more providers that did not make our top seven, and what their own pages state about price, refunds and device limits.